Arrow right icon Turn the tide flag icon Change the game bullhorn icon Tip the balance scale icon
VA@2x.jpg

Virginia

The lines have been drawn in Virginia. After gerrymandering voting maps in 2011, the GOP has spent years entrenching its power while undermining the will of the people. This November is our best—and last—chance to build a pro-democracy majority in the General Assembly before redistricting in 2021.


How We Got Here

2011

After receiving census data, the split Virginia General Assembly draws new legislative and congressional maps. The House of Delegates map packs black voters into 12 majority-black districts, and the congressional map packs black voters into Congressional District 3.

2013

The General Assembly, flipped by the GOP in November 2011, passes a strict voter ID law. The law—along with early registration deadlines and the absence of in-person early voting—will make Virginia the second-hardest state to vote in.

2014

A panel of federal judges declares Virginia’s congressional map unconstitutional due to racial gerrymandering. The Virginia GOP appeals the ruling to the Supreme Court.

2015

A court-appointed expert draws a new congressional map.

2016

The federal court approves the new map—and the Supreme Court rejects the Virginia GOP’s appeal.

2017

Democrats break the GOP’s supermajority in the House of Delegates by flipping 15 seats, with 5 seats going to Flippable alums. The GOP’s majority shrinks from 66-34 to 51-49.

2018

A federal court rules that 11 House of Delegates districts are racially gerrymandered. The court orders a new map. The Virginia GOP appeals the case, and the Supreme Court agrees to hear it in 2019.

2019

A federal court approves the new House map drawn by a court-appointed expert and orders its adoption before the November election. Six GOP-held seats will become competitive under the new map.


Meet Our Candidates

Passionate progressive leaders are the key to building a pro-democracy majority in the Virginia General Assembly. We’re excited to support these 20 state House and state Senate candidates as they run to flip Virginia blue!


Turpin@2x.png
SD-7: Del. Cheryl Turpin

Located within the Hampton Roads region, Senate District 7 contains western Virginia Beach and a sliver of Norfolk.

Smasal@2x.png
SD-8: Missy Cotter Smasal

Senate District 8 is in the Hampton Roads region and is fully located within Virginia Beach.

Hashmi@2x.png
SD-10: Ghazala Hashmi

Stretching west from downtown Richmond, Senate District 10 encompasses parts of Richmond City, Chesterfield County, and Powhatan County.

Rodman@2x.png
SD-12: Del. Debra Rodman

Senate District 12 extends north from just outside of Richmond, and is primarily located within Henrico County.

Bell@2x.png
SD-13: Del. John Bell

Senate District 13 is located on the western edge of the Washington, D.C. suburbs, split between Loudoun County and Prince William County.

Gooditis@2x.png
HD-10: Del. Wendy Gooditis

House District 10 lies on the outskirts of the Washington, D.C. suburbs, primarily within Loudoun County.

Fowler@2x.png
HD-21: Del. Kelly Convirs-Fowler

Located in the Hampton Roads region, House District 21 is almost entirely within Virginia Beach City.

Barnett@2x.png
HD-27: Larry Barnett

House District 27 is southwest of Richmond and located completely within Chesterfield County.

Cole@2x.png
HD-28: Joshua Cole

Located primarily in Stafford County, House District 28 is roughly halfway between Washington, D.C. and Richmond.

Helmer@2x.png
HD-40: Dan Helmer

House District 40 contains some of the outer Washington, D.C. suburbs and is split between Fairfax County and Prince William County.

Bynum_Coleman@2x.png
HD-66: Sheila Bynum-Coleman

House District 66 runs south from the outskirts of Richmond to Petersburg. Redistricted for 2019, HD-66 went from heavily GOP to toss-up this year.

Adams@2x.png
HD-68: Del. Dawn Adams

Home to the University of Richmond, House District 68 lies on the western side of Richmond and is split between Richmond City and Chesterfield County.

VanValenburg@2x.png
HD-72: Del. Schuyler VanValkenburg

House District 72 lies on the northwest edge of Richmond and contains the towns of Glen Allen and Innsbrook. HD-72 is now slightly more Democratic after being redistricted for 2019.

Willett@2x.png
HD-73: Rodney Willett

Located on the northwest edge of Richmond, House District 73 is entirely within Henrico County.

Jenkins@2x.png
HD-76: Clint Jenkins

House District 76 is located on the western side of the Hampton Roads region. Redistricted for 2019, HD-76 went from a solidly GOP seat to a potential Democratic flip.

Guy@2x.png
HD-83: Nancy Guy

Located in the Hampton Roads region, House District 83 is split between Norfolk City and Virginia Beach City. HD-83 went from leaning GOP to being a toss-up after redistricting for 2019.

Askew@2x.png
HD-85: Alex Askew

House District 85 is in the Hampton Roads region on the western edge of Virginia Beach, close to Norfolk. Redistricted for 2019, HD-85 is now slightly more Democratic.

Mugler@2x.png
HD-91: Martha Mugler

House District 91 is located within the Hampton Roads region. Redistricted for 2019, this district has transitioned from a solidly red seat to a potential flip.

Simonds@2x.png
HD-94: Shelly Simonds

House District 94 is in the Hampton Roads region and is located entirely within the city of Newport News. Redistricted for 2019, HD-94 went from toss-up to prime opportunity for a Democratic flip.

Hernandez@2x.png
HD-100: Phil Hernandez

House District 100 is located in Southeastern Virginia and contains bits of Norfolk City as well as the entirety of Virginia’s Eastern Shore peninsula.